All Projects

In-Car WiFi Hotspot Platform

Secure and efficient access to information from the Internet on the move for professional and private purposes is an essential element for the customer satisfaction of car owners.

 

Client

A large German telecommunications provider offers a platform for a white label hotspot product for OEMs and other users.

Task

Our tasks were/are, the design of the private cloud and the application incl. worldwide network topology, the provision of the platform, the operation and quality assurance of the platform, the control of the service providers as general contractor.

Challenge

The challenge was to have a platform instance for every customer in the automotive industry. The existing systems were inflexible, not scalable and expensive. The different instances had long downtimes for the customers. The unclear workflows and responsibilities between operations, delivery and product management led to delays and outages.

Solution

The solution was a scalable, multi-client capable platform including fail-safe functionality. In addition, DevOPS methods were introduced and the organizational structure was set up with clear work structures according to ITIL V3 processes and a service management with certified ITIL service managers. This was supported by optimization workshops, test automation and E2E application monitoring.

Alle Projekte anzeigen

In-Car WiFi Hotspot

Der sichere und leistungsfähige Zugriff unterwegs auf Informationen aus dem Internet für berufliche und private Aufgabenstellungen ist ein wesentliches Element für die Kundenzufriedenheit von Fahrzeugbesitzern.

Kunde

Ein großer deutscher Telekommunikationsanbieter bietet KFZ-Herstellern im In- und Ausland eine Plattform für ein White-Label-Hotspot-Produkt an.

Aufgabenstellung

Unsere Aufgaben waren das Design der Private Cloud und der Anwendung, inklusive einer weltweiten Netztopologie. Die Bereit-stellung und der Betrieb der international verteilten Plattform mit Qualitätssicherung erfolgte als Generalunternehmer.

Herausforderung

Die Herausforderung war, für jeden KFZ-Hersteller eine eigene Instanz bereitzustellen. Die vorhandenen IT-Systeme waren unflexibel, nicht skalierbar und zu teuer im Betrieb. Die Ausfallzeiten entsprachen nicht den Erwartungen der Kunden. Die unklaren Arbeitsabläufe und Verantwortlichkeiten zwischen Lieferung, Betrieb und Produktmanagement führten zu unnötigen Verzögerungen.

Lösung

Die Lösung war eine skalierbare, mandantenfähige Plattform mit hoher Ausfallsicherheit. Es wurden DevOps-Methoden eingeführt, sowie der Organisationsaufbau mit klaren Arbeitsstrukturen gemäß ITIL-V3-Prozessen und einem ganzheitlichen Service-Management aufgesetzt. Unterstützt wurde dies durch fortlaufende Optimierungs-aktivitäten, Nutzung von Test-Automatisierung und Einsatz von E2E-Applikationsmonitorings.